The Obama text message that never was.

I’ve seen people at Kos and Balloon Juice pissed at Obama that they didn’t get their text message and instead found out about Biden via the traditional media. If someone from Obama’s camp leaked then, yes they have legitiment reason to be pissed.

However as it stands, it is rumored to be either a “high level Democrat” (likely) or a Secret Service Agent (unlikely). Either of those, would not be Obama’s fault. Thus anger is misplaced.

I have seen people feeling they were being screwed, and promising to withhold support for Obama. Something along the lines of broken promises, or as I just listened to Lynn Sweet on MSNBC say…a “broken social contract”. Really?

Look, this is transparently simple. The text messaging thing was a way for Obama to get your cell phone number to add to his ground game. Nothing more. If you are really that bummed out or surprised that the pick leaked before the text went out then you don’t know politics. If the leak pissed you off to the point that you are going to vote against, or withhold support from Obama, then you need to seriously check yourself and remind yourself of the disaster of the last seven and a half years.

And, if the leak did come from the Obama camp (which I HIGHLY doubt, they’ve been way too disciplined), then that’s a major gaff and they’ve shot themselves in the foot needlessly. Thankfully it was on a Friday night, and won’t hit the RADAR between Biden and the Dem convention starting Monday.

7 Responses to The Obama text message that never was.

  1. Tired voter says:

    I just woke up. The broken social contract is the sacred contract between my head and my pillow, not to be awoken by a text message on SOMETHING I ALREADY HEARD ON THE NEWS AT MIDNIGHT RIGHT BEFORE I WENT TO BED! I can’t believe my f-ing phone went off at 3:00 in morning. I was a Clinton supporter in the primary who has moved toward Obama, but was really hoping it would be Clinton. Now I am f-ing bleary eyed, to hear it is f-ing Joe Biden (nothing wrong with Biden, its’ just 3am). Pretty class-less if you ask me to send this at 3am if they really are trying to woo us Hillary folks. It’s a complete joke, making fun of Clinton’s primary ad, and have I said WAKING ME UP FROM MY PEACEFUL, PEACEFUL SLEEP. I realize Obama doesn’t have to pick her for veep, but geez, does he have to call me at 3am to tell me that?!? I’m grumpy as hell and got a text to hear he didn’t go for the candidate I was hoping for. I will no attempt to go back to sleep.

  2. Dave says:

    Well…at least you got the text message…I don’t think Obama said WHEN it was going to be. 🙂

    I do love my sleep, and when I get woken up by frivolous crap, I get angry, so I feel your pain.

  3. Jeanne says:

    Get over it. If you don’t want to be woken up at 3am, maybe you should turn your cell phone off.

    And if you’re angry enough to write him off for a 3am text message, then come online to search blogs and make a whiny post, and then go back to bed with your smug anger that gives you what looks like a reason to not support Obama, then…good for you. I’m sure the world is a better place now that you’ve spoken your immensely logical and mature views.

  4. Jeanne says:

    (Dave, that was not directed at you, but “Tired voter.” Sorry.)

  5. Fred says:

    Typical Democrat, blame the victim.

  6. Fred says:

    Blame the victim first, cover the perpetrator’s ass.

  7. Karen Marie says:

    Well, hey, I signed up for the message and never received it.
    I woke from an internal clock to discover it was Biden, not Hillary.

    While yes, I am disappointed Hilliary won’t be running, much less a VP,
    I guess Obama and Biden will do just fine. Considering the alternative,
    and the previous administration, I’ll be happy to click the Obamaden
    box.

Leave a Reply

