Obama Georgia and NATO.

Obama released a statement today endorsing the idea that Georgia should be allowed in NATO. Admittedly I don’t know anything about this area of the world. However, seeing that Georgia’s NATO admission might have been one factor for causing the recent battle; and with Russia asserting itself in the region again, I probably think it’s a bad thing. Inflaming Russia at this point is silly and non-productive.

Hilzoy notes:

As I’ve already said, I think that letting Georgia become a member of NATO would be a terrible mistake. Now that Obama has made it, I am left to wonder: is this political? Or does he actually believe it?

I don’t much care for either option.

I may not either, but the third option is McCain and his rhetoric upping the temperature in the region.

Leave a Reply

